Winner of the SAETA FSP Spring Poetry Prize

This year, Ian Gibbins and Jelena Dinic were asked to judge the Year 11 & 12 entries for the South Australian English Teachers Association 2015 Spring Poetry Festival Prize and award the Friendly Street prizes to the top four poems. The prizes consisted of cash, a selection of FSP books, a certificate, and complimentary membership of FSP for 2016.

First Prize went to Olivia McGuinness (Cedar College) for Stress; Second Prize: Dee Ritchie (Torrens Valley Christian School) for Wrong; Third Prize: Sam Kelly (Thomas More College) for Timeless Wrinkles; and Highly Commended: Taniesha Morton (Torrens Valley Christian School) for Mummy. We congratulate the winners and all the entrants in this competition.

Here is the winning poem, courtesy of SAETA.


by Olivia McGuinness

Waves of        sentiment        lap

at            the borders of          your          mind

weeds       of terror          snatch

at every             inch of your body

the gritty taste        of sorrow

in your mouth

the persistent             tide of saltiness

from your       eyes

drowning in           your own ocean