Other FSP Publications

Over the years Friendly Street Poets has published two series of books promoting the work of individual poets: the New Poets series, each volume of which has collections from three previously unpublished poets, and the Single Poet series that publishes a full length collection from a previously unpublished poet. The poets for each of these series are selected anonymously by a highly accredited judge.

FSP Publishing History

‘A major development, central to Friendly Street’s ongoing significance, was Richard Tipping’s idea of bringing out an anthology of the best work read during the first year. This was the beginning of the annual anthologies…’

Andrew Taylor, ‘Recent South Australian Poetry’ an essay in Southwords: Essays in South Australian Writing (Wakefield Press)

Richard Tipping’s anthology was the first ‘Friendly Street Poetry Reader’ and was published in 1977 by the Adelaide University Union Press. After the demise of this press in 1980, Friendly Street Poets has continued to publish an annual anthology, for many years in partnership with Wakefield Press, but now published under FSP’s own name.

Two additional anthologies were produced in the early 1990s: The Inner Courtyard, a South Australian anthology of love poetry, and the first definitive history of FSP, Tuesday Night Live, showcasing a selection of the first fifteen years of Friendly Street Poets. This was followed up in 2008 by Best of Friends (The First 30 Years) by Steve Evans and Kate Deller-Evans.